Meaford Curling Club banner

Meaford Curling Club

Club News

club History

The Meaford Curling Club was formed in 1876 and joined the Ontario Curling Association in 1877. The original club was situated on the present site at Collingwood and Thompson Streets; The club relocated to a building by the Big Head River and used natural ice until 1951 when an ice plant was installed.

The Club constructed a new building in 1987 on the present site on land owned by the Meaford and St. Vincent Township Agricultural Society. This construction was made possible by great fundraising and a Wintario grant. Our club is a modern facility with 4 sheets of ice, a lounge, kitchen and meeting room. The Club's facilities are available for rentals for private functions. It is now fully AIR CONDITIONED during the warmer months of the year.

Currently, curling is scheduled 5 days and nights a week with various weekend bonspeils held during the curling season. The Meaford Curling Club Season generally runs from November through to the end of March, with registration in October. Currently our membership is 240. 

Curling is a fun sport that can be enjoyed at any age, whether you are just beginning or returning to curling, it provides a great social experience, as well as physical activity.

 

board of directors

The Meaford Curling Club Board of Directors is comprised of 11 members of the Meaford Curling Club. Board Members must be 21 years of age, full members and have paid at least 50% of their bond. Directors are appointed to a three year term at the Annual General Meeting.

Ken Bullock 
Chair

Wenda Recoskie 

Vice-Chair/ Advertising

Bob Foster
Treasurer

Tammy Speers

Secretary 

Jenn Pearson
Junior Curlers
Norm Glas 
 Games
Barry Johnston
Bar
Rob Munden 
 Volunteers
Susan Lake
Communications

Lorne Wedge

Bonspiels/ Curling Rep to ONCurl 

Verla Cramp-White
Kitchen
John Hume
Ice Maker and
Building Manager

Copyright © , Meaford Curling Club , All rights reserved.
Website powered by Curling Manager